2019 Award Notice
2019 Award Committee Members
Awards Criteria and Operating Procedures


ARMA issues annual awards to recognize outstanding contributions and careers in the profession of rock mechanics and rock engineering that are of benefit to the United States rock mechanics community. The purposes of the awards program are:

  • to encourage teaching, research, and advancement of knowledge in rock mechanics;
  • to encourage collaboration and exchange of ideas and information between rock mechanics practitioners; and
  • to promote high standards of professional practice among rock engineers so that civil, mining, and petroleum works might be safer, more economic, and less disruptive to the environment.

ARMA shall recognize outstanding contributions in naming recipients of the following six awards:

  • Rock Mechanics Research Award;
  • Applied Rock Mechanics Research Award;
  • Case History Award;
  • Dr. N.G.W. Cook Ph.D. Dissertation Award;
  • M.S. Thesis in Rock Mechanics Award; and
  • Outstanding Contributions to Rock Mechanics Award

Leave a Reply