The ARMA Fellows Program recognizes select individuals who have achieved outstanding accomplishments in the area of rock mechanics. Currently, there are 28 individuals who have been inducted as ARMA Fellows.


Original (2008) class of ARMA Fellows. Left to right: Charles Dowding, Herbert Einstein, Charles Fairhurst, Richard Goodman, Sid Green, Bezalel Haimson, Francois Heuze, Jean-Claude Roegiers, Bernand Amadei. Missing: Priscilla Nelson. (Photo by H. Montague)

Election to ARMA Fellow

A Fellow of ARMA is recognition of an individual’s outstanding achievements in the field of rock mechanics. The Fellow title is granted to selected individuals by their peers and is evidence of the individual’s expertise, judgment, and wisdom, particularly in the field of rock mechanics.

Procedure for Nomination and Appointment to Fellow

An individual may be considered for Fellow status in either of two ways:

A current Fellow submitting a Nomination Package

At least five ARMA Individual Members submitting a Nomination Package.

Download the nomination form:

Nomination packages received by December 1st will be considered for Fellowship in the following year.

Leave a Reply